Wuhan University began to recruit the master of Sociology in the master degree program of Marx's philosophy in 1990. In August 1992, Wuhan University established the Institute of Sociology. In February 1994, the sociology department of Wuhan University was founded (joint office work with the department of philosophy). In March 1997, under the guidance of subject classification, as a relatively independent system, sociology has been adjusted to the Wuhan University law school. In October 2005, approved by the Wuhan University, sociology department was divided from the law school and become the independent department of the school. Now department of sociology has two undergraduate majors about sociology and social work, four master degree programs about sociology, anthropology, folklore and social work, and a sociology doctor degree program. The department now has 27 teachers, including 7 professors, 9 associate professors and 11 lecturers.

  In recent years, the sociology department successively presided over and take on more than 20 items including the national key projects、the general projects and youth fund projects form nation, the ministry of education and Hubei province, more than 10 national ministries and relevant provinces and cities and enterprises commissioned projects, nearly 10 European Union and other international cooperation projects. The sociology department published over 10 monographs and more than 300 academic paper. And the sociology department has established stable relationships to do academic exchanges or cooperation in running schools with more than 20 academic institutions and educational entities including the United States, Canada, European Union, Japan, Australia, Hong Kong and Taiwan.